Zenit Continues Dominance, Secures Fifth Consecutive Russian Championship Title by Beating Spartak.

    Zenit-Petersburg won the Russian Football League title four stages before the end of the competition, having beaten Spartak Moscow on Sunday in the 26th round with a score of 3:2.

    Zenit’s hat-trick was scored by Clodinho, Andrey Mostovoy and Ivan Sergeev in the 13th, 39th and 90th minutes respectively, while Keita Balde and Quincy Promes (from the penalty spot) scored Spartak’s goals in the 13th and 85th th minutes.

    Zenit increased their score to 64 points, 13 points ahead of their nearest rival CSKA Moscow, officially winning the league title for the ninth time in their history and for the fifth consecutive time.

    Zenit won the Russian championship in the seasons 2006/07, 2010/2009, 2012/11, 2015/14, 2019/18, 2020/19, 2021/20, 2022/21 and 2023/22.

    The club also won the USSR championship in 1984.


    Related articles


    Leave a Reply

    Share article

    Latest articles