Women’s EURO 2025 to be Held in Switzerland

    UEFA has announced that Switzerland will host the European Women’s Championship in 2025.

    The 16-team tournament will take place at eight stadiums in Switzerland and the UEFA Executive Committee will meet in Lisbon on Tuesday to determine the venue.

    The Swiss bid ultimately outsold the Nordic bid from Denmark, Finland, Norway and Sweden after three ballots, with the Polish-French joint venture ruled out earlier in the proceedings.

    As host nation, Switzerland secured automatic qualification and will take part in its third tournament in a row, having first appeared in 2017.

    The tournament will be the first international competition to be hosted by Switzerland, the home country of both FIFA and UEFA, since the men’s Euro 2008 tournament, when they were co-hosts with Austria.

    Switzerland also previously hosted the World Cup in 1954, where it reached the quarter-finals.

    The 2025 tournament will be the third since the competition was expanded to 16 teams and England became the reigning champions.

    Related articles


    Leave a Reply

    Share article

    Latest articles