Soccer News: Ronaldo finished 20th in voting as Benzema beat Mane to win the Ballon d’Or

    Cristiano Ronaldo finished 20th in voting for the Ballon d’Or, leading a host of stars behind 2022 winner Karim Benzema.

    Ronaldo, Benzema’s former Real Madrid teammate, was nominated after a strong season at Manchester United, but he failed to come close to adding a sixth Ballon d’Or.

    The United striker instead fell to his lowest finish since he last finished 20th in 2005 and then drew against Liverpool Champions League winner Jamie Carragher.

    Great rival Lionel Messi didn’t even get a nomination after his first year at Paris Saint-Germain.

    Some of the biggest names in the future have come to harass Karim Benzema, with Kylian Mbappe sixth and Erling Haaland 10th.

    But none of them made it to the Final Four, where Robert Lewandowski’s world-best season with 57 goals for club and country was only enough for fourth place.

    Ahead of him, Kevin De Bruyne was third and Sadio Mane second, perhaps showing what could have been for the ex-Liverpool striker had the Reds, not Real Madrid, won the Champions League final.

    With Ronaldo in 20th place and Messi absent, the highest-ranking former Ballon d’Or winner was 2018 Luka Modric, one of Benzema’s current Madrid colleagues.

    Modric was ninth, the lowest of the four Madrid players in the top 10, while Champions League final winner Vinicius Junior was eighth and Yashin Trophy winner Thibault Courtois seventh.

    Ballon d’Or 2022:

    1. Karim Benzema
    2. Sadio Mane
    3. Kevin De Bruyne
    4. Robert Lewandowski
    5. Mohamed Salah
    6. Kylian Mbappe
    7. Thibaut Courtois
    8. Vinicius the Younger
    9. Luka Modric
    10. Erling Haaland
    11. Heung Min Song
    12. Riyad Mahrez
    13. Sebastien Haller
    14. Fabinho
    14. Rafael Leao
    16. Virgil van Dijk
    17. Casemiro
    17. Dusan Vlahovic
    17. Luis Diaz
    20. Cristiano Ronaldo
    21. Harry Kane
    22. Trent Alexander-Arnold
    22. Phil Foden
    22. Bernardo Silva
    25. Joshua Kimmich
    25. Mike Menian
    25. Antonio Rüdiger
    25. Joao Cancelo
    25. Christopher Nkunku
    25. Darwin Nunez

    Related articles


    Leave a Reply

    Share article

    Latest articles