Soccer News: Lewandowski wins the German Footballer of the Year award for the second consecutive year


Bayern Munich forward Robert Lewandowski has been crowned Germany’s Footballer of the Year for 2021.

The Pole wins the award for the second consecutive season after a record season in the Bundesliga with Bayern; becoming the first player to retain recognition from Michael Ballack in 2003.

Lewandowski scored a staggering 41 league goals, breaking Gerd Muller’s record of 40 goals in 1971-72, and Hansi Flick’s side secured their ninth consecutive title.

The 32-year-old was the runaway winner of the award, receiving 356 of the 563 votes cast in a poll by journalists from sports magazine Kicker – 315 more than his closest challenger Thomas Muller.

“I know what a great honor this is,” he told the club’s official website.

“It is a source of great pride and joy for me, as it is rare for anyone to win the title of Footballer of the Year in Germany twice in a row.”

In fact, Lewandowski becomes only the 15th different player to win the award on multiple occasions, alongside the likes of Franz Beckenbauer, Jurgen Klinsmann, Lothar Matthaus and Oliver Kahn.

His 41 goals earned him the Bundesliga Golden Boot for the sixth time, leaving him a stone’s throw from Muller’s record of seven.

With 365, the 1974 World Cup winner is also the only player to improve Lewandowski’s tally of 277 league goals in the German top flight.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here