Premier League Hall of Fame inducts Ferguson and Wenger as first two managers.

    Alex Ferguson and Arsene Wenger are inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame.

    The Great Rivals are the first managers inducted into the Hall of Fame, established in 2021.

    Ferguson managed Manchester United from the start of the Premier League era until his retirement in 2013, winning a record 13 titles.

    Wenger led Arsenal to three league titles in the longest span in the competition’s history, from 1996 to 2018.

    Only Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola (four) and Roma manager José Mourinho (three) have joined Ferguson and Wenger in winning multiple titles.

    Premier League Chief Executive Richard Masters said: “We are delighted to welcome our first two managers to the Premier League Hall of Fame.

    “Sir Alex Ferguson and Arsene Wenger have made an outstanding contribution to the history of football in this country.

    “They have brought an unprecedented level of success to Manchester United and Arsenal respectively, raising standards and thrilling fans with a rivalry that has resulted in a staggering 16 wins between them.”

    Ferguson added: “I am very happy to be inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame. It’s an honor to receive such recognition.

    “However, it’s not just about me as a person. It’s about working at Manchester United and our long-term bond, so I’m also proud of the club, the staff and my players.

    “My job was to send the fans home happy. The history of United and my own expectations were the things that drove me and then I had to try to develop all my players with the same expectations and make sure we could go out and reach them.”

    Wenger said: “I am very grateful to be inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame.

    “We always wanted to give the fans something special, and when you have players who can do amazing things, the most important thing for me is the pursuit of excellence.

    “I would like to be known as someone who loved Arsenal, respected the club’s values ​​and left it in a position where it can grow and become even bigger.”

    The pair will join 16 players in the Hall of Fame, with three more to be chosen by fans from a roster of 15 announced Thursday.

    Related articles


    Leave a Reply

    Share article

    Latest articles