Liverpool’s Jurgen Klopp named LMA manager of the year

    Sir Alex Ferguson informed Jurgen Klopp he “thoroughly deserved” the award.

    Jurgen Klopp has been named the League Supervisors’ Association manager of the year after directing Liverpool to the Premier League title.

    The Reds ended a 30-year await top-flight magnificence in a season that also saw them crowned world champions following on from last year’s Champions League success.

    The award was revealed by ex-Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson, after whom the trophy is now named.

    “Jurgen, fantastic,” Ferguson stated on SkySports “We discuss Leeds investing 16 years in the Championship, however Liverpool 30 years since winning that league, incredible.

    ” You completely deserved it. The efficiency level of your team was exceptional. Your character runs right throughout the wholeclub It was a wonderful efficiency.

    “I’ll forgive you for waking me up at 3.30am to tell me you have won the league! Thank you, but anyway, you thoroughly deserved it. Well done.”

    Klopp stated himself “absolutely delighted” to get the award, which he committed to his personnel.

    And the 53-year- old stated he was honoured to be handed a trophy named in honour of Ferguson.

    “I know it’s not 100 per cent appropriate as a Liverpool manager but I admire him,” he stated. “I remember he was the first British manager I met.

    ” We had breakfast. Since for me this minute was like conference the Pope, I’m not sure how much he keeps in mind however I keep in mind. It was definitely great and from that first season we clicked.

    “I didn’t think at this moment I would have a trophy in my hands named after him.”

    Last year’s winner Chris Wilder needed to opt for the runner- up spot this time around after directly losing out on Europe in an amazing go back to the Premier League for Sheffield United.

    Also short- noted were Wycombe boss Gareth Ainsworth and Leeds’ Marcelo Bielsa, who was named Championship manager of the year after making the title.

    Coventry boss Mark Robins took the League One award and Crewe’s David Artell was named League 2 manager of the year.

    Emma Hayes was named Barclays FA Women’s Super League manager of the year after leading Chelsea to a league and Continental Tyres League Cup double, while Aston Rental property’s Gemma Davies took the FA Women’s Championship award after a cut campaign.

    The Premier League manager of the year will be granted individually next month.

    ID: 408171:.

    Related articles


    Leave a Reply

    Share article

    Latest articles